Obscure 1962 Bing Crosby Christmas Album Revisited

“I Wish You A Merry Christmas” is a long-playing vinyl album of Christmas themed songs recorded by Bing Crosby for his own company, Project Records, at Radio Recorders, Hollywood and issued by Warner Brothers Records (W-1484) in 1962. The tracks were arranged by Bob Thompson, Peter Matz and Jack Halloran and each conducted the orchestra for their own arrangements. The musical accompaniment was recorded on the 23rd and 25th of July 1962 and Crosby over-dubbed his vocals in one session on October 5th, 1962.

The album was re-released by Capitol Records  in 1977 on vinyl and in 1988 on CD as “Bing Crosby’s Christmas Classics” with one track, “Pat-a-Pan/ While Shepherds Watched Their Sheep, omitted. All the songs from the original album were included on an EMI Music CD called “Winter Wonderland” (7243 4 96829 2 4) in the UK in 1998 and on a Capitol CD in the USA in 1999 called “Bing Crosby’s Christmas Classics”.

Billboard reviewed the album saying “Crosby is a perennial holiday seller, and this LP should prove an important Christmas item for all dealers. The Crosby touch is everywhere evident and the material is drawn from the great Christmas catalogue. Chorus and orchestra assist der Bingle on such Christmas standards as “Winter Wonderland”, “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”.


Track listing


  1. ”Winter Wonderland” – 2.27
  2. ”Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” – 2.52
  3. ”What Child Is This? / The Holly and the Ivy” – 3.23
  4. ”The Little Drummer Boy” – 3.02
  5. ”O Holy Night” – 3.36


  1. “The Littlest Angel” – 4.03
  2. ”Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!” – 2.09
  3. ”Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / It Came upon the Midnight Clear” – 3.08
  4. ”Frosty the Snowman” – 2.16
  5. ”Pat-a Pan / While Shepherds Watched Their Sheep” – 2.53
  6. ”I Wish You a Merry Christmas” – 1.54

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s